Thracian settlement, called Medius, around 2000BC. Later the Romans renamed it Dezudava and in 6th century the Slavs called it St. Vrachove in the memory of the two brothers Kozma amd Damyan who were native doctors. In 1947, the city accepted its present name of Sandanski.
The city features 6 mineral springs, and water temperature is between 78 °C to 81 °C. The total capacity is 1400 liter per minute. The climate in the region has a favourable impact on people with chronic allergic diseases of the respiratory system, allergic kidney diseases, locomotory system diseases, diseases of the peripheral nervous system, diseases of the secretory system, of intestinal and gastric liver and biliary complaints.
The public park with a pond and over 200 Mediterranean plant species covers a territory of 334 decares. Among the city attractions are the Archeological museum, the art gallery, the architectural complex with the monument of Spartacus, the "St. George" church, the "St. Bezsrebrenitsi Kozma and Damyan" Monastery, etc.
Places of interests are the town of Melnik, the smallest town in Bulgaria, situated among the scenery of Earth Pyramids of Melnik in the south-western slopes of the southern part of Pirin. Melnik is famous for its wine. The town of Melnik and the nearby Rozhen monastery (founded in XIII -XIV century ) have been promulgated for a natural cultural and historical reserve.